Postscript

I hope this is one of many, and have a vague random dream that students will continue to vent their rage online…..

We had the final tutorials for first year Gender Studies students who were all saying “Oh my God – I can’t look at ANYTHING now without being critical!” Which is pretty awesome feedback.

for my part – I’ll be going into an essay marking hole for the next few weeks, then I hope to continue writing my reflections on teaching gender.

the last 2 lectures I felt like I was running into the wind – being overwhelmed by current affairs and trying to share some critical frameworks or tools to try to address them – or at least not be as floored by them as I was feeling.

the Australia Pariah State refugee excision thing? that had me weeping tears of rage, literally… sobbing. I managed not to sob in the lecture, but did some Foucaultian dance with it all…..

And then the last episode of SBS insight – a fat shaming horror – rivalling the misogyny manuals of ACP…. well – that did leave me speechless.

Fortunately – other, more eloquent activist academics found words beyond the screams of FAAAAARRRRRRKKKKKK!!!!!!!!

Check this wonderful blog post by Protodoctor Wykes from Melbourne Uni….

And – its a good point to leave on. That the SBS/ABC current affairs journalese style of debate around topical issues of identity and diversity are everything that I hope to equip students to move away from. the fourth estate is dead as a dingo’s donger, and there are so few public forums for critical thought and research integrity. Maybe the blogosphere can allow some more useful conversations to keep happening.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

